Public Servant-in-Residence Initiative

The Public Servant-in-Residence Initiative (PSIR) places mid-career public servants in Canadian universities to conduct research and/or teach in areas linked to departmental objectives and broader Federal Public Service priorities. These assignments may be undertaken on either a full- or part-time basis and require an Interchange Canada Agreement.

Objectives

The objectives of the PSIR are to:

Benefits

The PSIR offers participants an opportunity to:

The PSIR offers Canadian universities an opportunity to:

Assignments

The issues explored on assignment must be linked to departmental and/or Federal Public Service priorities, and the resident’s activities must be reported publically through the university’s website. Candidates are encouraged to engage in a wide variety of activities while on campus, including delivering lectures, conducting research, working on collaborative projects with faculty, supporting the Deputy Minister University Champion on campus (if applicable), helping create new programs and courses, reviewing curriculum, supporting campus recruitment activities and mentoring students.

Residents are expected to bring the knowledge they gain back to their department and the broader Federal Public Service as they network during and after the completion of their assignment. A report summarizing their activities while on assignment is due to the Canada School of Public Service 30–days following their reintegration to the public service.

Application process

All prospective candidates are advised to contact the Canada School of Public Service prior to contacting a potential destination university or proceeding to develop their application. Note that applications are reviewed by two Deputy Ministers to ensure value to the Federal Public Service.

Applications are to be submitted at the latest by July 31st for a September start date or by November 30th for a January start date. Late applications will not be considered.

The full approval process for a PSIR application may take between 4 weeks and 3 months.

Candidates are required to submit the following documents:

Please send your questions to the Public Servant-in-Residence initiative before completing your application.

Approval process

Applications to the PSIR initiative are reviewed and approved by the President of the Canada School of Public Service. Once their applications are approved, residents employed by departments listed in schedules I and IV of the Financial Administration Act (unless excluded by specific acts, regulations or orders-in-council) are required to complete an Interchange Canada Agreement. For more information on how to complete the agreement, candidates can contact their organization's human resources advisor or visit the Interchange Canada website.

Resources


Features

COVID19

Information for Government of Canada employees: Coronavirus disease (COVID-19)

Updates for employees on COVID-19, telework, advisories, messages and resources to share.
COVID-19: Learning resources

COVID-19: Learning resourcesNew

Learning resources to support public servants during the COVID‑19 pandemic.

This website is continually being updated in response to your feedback.

Let us know what you think of it.
Which platform is your comment about:
Enter your email if you would like a reply:
Date modified:

L'Initiative visant les fonctionnaires fédéraux en résidence

L'Initiative visant les fonctionnaires en résidence (IFR) permet aux fonctionnaires à la mi-carrière de joindre les rangs d'une université canadienne pour y mener des recherches ou enseigner dans des domaines liés aux objectifs ministériels ou aux priorités de l'ensemble de la fonction publique. Ces affectations peuvent avoir lieu à temps plein ou à temps partiel et requièrent une entente conclue dans le cadre d'Échanges Canada.

Objectifs

Les objectifs du IFR sont les suivants :

Avantages

Le IFR permet aux participants les possibilités suivantes :

Le IFR offre aux universités canadiennes les possibilités suivantes :

Affectations

Les questions abordées lors de l'affectation doivent être liées aux priorités du Ministère ou de la fonction publique fédérale, et les activités du résident doivent être mentionnées publiquement sur le site Web de l'université. Les candidats sont invités à prendre part à une foule d'activités sur le campus, notamment : donner des cours, mener des projets de recherche, travailler à des projets en collaboration avec le personnel enseignant, appuyer le sous-ministre champion des relations universitaires sur le campus (le cas échéant), aider à créer de nouveaux cours et programmes, lire les curriculum vitæ, organiser des activités de recrutement sur le campus et agir à titre de mentor auprès des étudiants.

Les fonctionnaires en résidence sont tenus de transmettre à leur ministère et à la fonction publique en général, pendant et à la fin de leur affectation, les connaissances qu'ils auront acquises. L'École de la fonction publique du Canada s'attendra à recevoir leur rapport sur les activités qu'ils ont réalisées lors de leur affectation 30 jours après leur réintégration dans la fonction publique.

Processus de demande

Tous les candidats potentiels sont invités à communiquer avec l'École de la fonction publique du Canada avant de communiquer avec une éventuelle université d'accueil pour préparer leur demande. Il est à noter que les demandes sont examinées par deux sous-ministres qui veilleront à ce que la fonction publique fédérale tire avantage de la résidence.

Les demandes doivent être déposées au plus tard le 31 juillet pour commencer la résidence en septembre, ou le 30 novembre pour commencer en janvier. Les demandes présentées en retard seront rejetées.

Le processus d'approbation des demandes pour le IFR dans son ensemble peut prendre de quatre semaines à trois mois.

Les candidats doivent présenter les documents suivants :

Veuillez faire parvenir vos questions au L'Initiative visant les fonctionnaires fédéraux en résidence avant de déposer votre candidature.

Processus d'approbation

Les demandes concernant le IFR sont examinées et approuvées par le président de l'École de la fonction publique du Canada. Une fois que la demande est approuvée, les résidents travaillant pour les ministères figurant aux annexes I et IV de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques (sauf s'ils sont exclus en vertu d'une loi, d'un règlement ou d'un décret en particulier) doivent conclure une entente dans le cadre d'Échanges Canada.

Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements sur la conclusion d'une entente, les candidats peuvent communiquer avec le conseiller en ressources humaines de leur organisme ou consulter le site Web d'Échanges Canada.

Ressources


En vedette

COVID19

Renseignements à l'intention des employés du gouvernement du Canada : maladie à coronavirus (COVID‑19)

Mise à jour à l'intention des employés sur COVID‑19, télétravail, avis, messages et ressources à partager.

COVID-19 : Ressources d'apprentissage

COVID-19 : Ressources d'apprentissageNouveau

Ressources d'apprentissage pour soutenir les fonctionnaires au courant de la pandémie de COVID‑19.

Ce site web est continuellement mis à jour en fonction de vos commentaires.

Dites-nous ce que vous en pensez.
Sur quelle plateforme porte votre commentaire :
Veuillez entrer votre courriel si vous souhaitez une réponse :
Date de modification :