Manager Guide: Onboarding Students During COVID-19

This quick reference tool provides tips and tricks to help managers with the onboarding of students working remotely.

   Download as PDF (277 KB)  


The exceptional circumstances created by the COVID-19 pandemic is challenging the public service to re-think the way of working, including how we onboard new team members in a virtual or remote context, and in some cases, a combination of virtual and physical workplaces.

Why is onboarding important during the COVID‑19 context?

Under "normal circumstances" onboarding is critical to establish a positive first impression with new employees, welcome them to the team and engage and embrace them into the organization's culture. Doing this well can increase employee satisfaction, engagement, performance and retention. The employee experience is even more important in a context where we may not have access to a physical workplace, office equipment and supplies, "in-person" meetings, regular and reliable communication tools, not to mention the nature, pace and scale of work may have changed.

Building on Beyond2020 pillars, this guide is designed to set you up for success to provide students with a positive experience, the opportunity to do meaningful work, and an understanding of career opportunities within the federal public service. This also  contributes directly to Canada's Youth Policy Employment priority.

Be Agile

The situation calls for you to re-think, explore and leverage new ways of engaging employees, keeping them motivated and on-track while providing them with resources and connecting them to co-workers. This is a time for creativity and learning how to lead virtually, while equipping your new hires for success. This is also the time to demonstrate that your work unit is inclusive and values the contribution of all team members.

Have a Plan

Have a plan for the student, their integration into the team, and the work you are planning for them. Be prepared to adjust your plan based on the student's needs and have an open conversation about how you can best support them. Prepare for their arrival, including how you will address any workplace accommodation needs in a timely manner, with a plan for the first day and week and to review progress throughout the work placement. Remain open to understanding the student's preference for how they would like to be engaged and that this may change and evolve over time. Use the checklists at the end of this guide to help you with each step.

If the student will be working on-site, make sure to advise them of any measures put in place to keep the workplace safe. Be prepared to answer their questions and address concerns.

Assemble a Digital Welcome Package

Assemble information and resources available in digital and accessible formats so that they can be shared and accessed remotely (documents, links, networks, etc.). Remember to consider where and how you share this information as some students may not have access to your internal networks or to the software required to read documents immediately. Think of alternative ways to communicate the information (e.g. virtual information session, assigning a virtual buddy) to help the student become familiar with the work and business practices.

Connect with Your Human Resources Department

Find out what material may already be available on-line to support onboarding and learning. Keep adding to this resource so that it remains relevant and up to date.

Schedule Virtual Welcome and Introductions

Be the first person to welcome the student with a face-to-face video-based (i.e. Microsoft Teams, WebEx) meeting to establish a personal connection. Be sure to ask the student about the virtual meeting platform they are most comfortable with.

Schedule face-to-face virtual introductions with team members at meetings using video technology to put faces or voices to names.

Ask your Human Resources (HR) or Information Technology (IT) Department about the types of face-to-face communication available in your department.

Be Equipped

Take the time to equip yourself with the tools you need to manage people and teams in a remote or virtual context and what is available in your department. This means making sure your technology is working, it is available to the team, and that you continue to build your personal toolkit around virtual work, leadership and creating an inclusive and accessible work environment.

One of your key responsibilities is ensuring students have the tools they need on their first day. If the student is unable to have a government laptop and/or access to the online network, have a discussion with the student to understand their level of access to technology, internet connectivity and comfort with different online platforms. Do not assume that all students have the same understanding of how to use new online approaches.

There is a wealth of information and resources for mangers and it is growing all the time. Take a moment to explore these before the student begins and integrate these practices into your team's management:

Connect on FlexGC

The FlexGC Network is a grassroots collective of public servants who are volunteering their time to share best practices and provide peer-to-peer guidance to any GC employee or manager who needs help working remotely. Connect with them on the GCcollab page or on Twitter @FlexGCInfo.

Engage the National Managers' Community

The National Managers' Community (NMC) is a horizontal network that connects managers across the federal public service with peers and useful resources. The NMC holds weekly virtual talks, aimed at providing managers with timely information, tips, tools and best practices to assist them in leading and supporting their teams virtually. Follow the NMC on GCconnex, Twitter @NMC_CNG or on Facebook @NMCCNG.

Use the Canada School of Public Service

The Canada School of Public Service offers a suite of learning products to support all public servants, including managers and students. The new Learning path for managers and supervisors of students working in a virtual environment during COVID-19 pandemic provides resources to support managers and supervisors in onboarding students. The Learning path for students provides students with resources and learning opportunities to gain basic knowledge for working in both a virtual and non-virtual environment.

Designate a Virtual Buddy

Ask an employee who is familiar with your department's role and functions to act as a virtual buddy to the student and help guide them through their first few weeks. The virtual buddy will help the student settle into their new job, answer questions and point them to useful resources.

Ask the Expert

Students can be a wealth of knowledge in using technology. Ask them to help you learn about and use the latest applications, download them on your devices, and navigate through the software. Also consider reverse-mentoring opportunities to empower the students and increase knowledge within your organization.

Be Inclusive

Part of building a positive work experience includes ensuring employees feel valued and appreciated and recognizing their contributions. Creating a nurturing, welcoming and inclusive workplace culture is a key element to support students, and all employees, in providing their best effort and reaching their potential. Use the Take Me With You approach to bring students along to your meetings and provide them with a better understanding of your department, your role and business processes.

Demonstrate Empathy

Pay attention to mental health and express empathy towards students who may be living alone and/or feeling isolated. Understand that they may be facing significant challenges within their living spaces, academic institutions, and social environments, including how their peers and family may have been challenged with COVID-19. Be open to a discussion and accommodate them in any way that you can, whether this means more flexible working hours, extended timelines, or adjustments to work assignments. The stress and disruption from the global pandemic may have an impact on how they cope in the workplace.

The Centre of Expertise on Mental Health in the Workplace has resources, tools and services to help employees maintain their mental health.

Create an Inclusive and Accessible Workplace

Make sure that you have discussed and put in place accommodations for students before their first day. Work with your HR and IT departments to take advantage of the services and resources available from the Accessibility, Accommodation and Adaptive Computer Technology (AAACT) Program for any accessibility, accommodations and adaptive technology requirements.

Visit the Office of Public Service Accessibility's GCpedia page for resources on how to create accessible documents and guidance for managers and employees on the GC Workplace Accessibility Passport.

To learn more about planning inclusive meetings, consult the Guide to Planning Inclusive Meetings available on Employment and Social Development Canada's Accessibility Resource Centre.

Invite Feedback

Once you have onboarded your student, it can be easy to lose track of progress. Ask your student for feedback once they have started working and follow-up on issues they may raise. Long-term onboarding effectiveness depends on how well you integrate your student beyond the first few weeks. The connections and experiences they gain will be valuable to them even after their work-term has ended.

Support Students in the Employment Opportunity for Students with Disabilities

The Employment Opportunity for Students with Disabilities is a national initiative under the Federal Student Work Experience Program that provides both managers and students with resources, tools and services to improve inclusion of persons with disabilities within the public service.

When you onboard new employees, they are in the best position to tell you what they require. They can also explain potential barriers they might encounter and how to best eliminate those barriers, including topics such as training and performance of certain tasks. That way, you can plan accordingly and give them the tailored content they require, instead of trying to guess their expectations.

The Employment Opportunity for Students with Disabilities' Resource Page on GCpedia provides many tools and resources to support managers and participants.

Support Students in the Indigenous Student Employment Opportunity

The Indigenous Student Employment Opportunity is a national initiative under the Federal Student Work Experience Program that provides both managers and students with resources, training, activities, and support services with the goal of improving the inclusion of Indigenous students into the public service.

Strengthen your understanding of Indigenous culture, protocols and rituals to help you work and develop a good relationship with an Indigenous student.The Indigenous Student Employment Opportunity Resource Page on GCpedia provides many tools and resources to support managers and participants.

Onboarding Stages: Manager Checklist

Pre-Arrival

This is an opportunity for you to prepare for your new employee's arrival and to make an initial good impression. Try to make them feel welcome and part of the team before they arrive.

  • Maintain communication by e-mail, phone or video prior to start date to answer any questions about forms, logistics, technology, work expectations or learning opportunities.
  • Work with HR and IT to complete all administrative tasks well ahead of student arrival and ensure pay documents have been processes according to the Pay Centre timelines. The process and timelines may be different in each department and modified in response to the COVID-19 situation (e.g. letter of offer, forms, technology set-up for home use).
  • Arrange for accommodation requirements well in advance of the start date in order to provide enough lead time to make these arrangements, especially for working remotely (work schedule adjustments, specialized workplace equipment, hardware or software).
  • Plan to communicate with, integrate and support the student for the duration of their work period, including a good understanding of the best way and time to communicate with the student.
  • Identify work and tasks the student can accomplish within the first week of arrival.
  • Identify a virtual buddy from the team to support the student.
  • Assemble an accessible welcome package.
  • Schedule time to meet and orient the student on the first day.

First Day and Week

The first day and week marks the beginning of a significant period of adjustment for the new employee. They may feel nervous and apprehensive.

  • Welcome your new employee on their first day of work through accessible virtual conferencing tools.
  • Review key issues and documents with the student. Ensure the student completes all HR and administrative forms.
  • Introduce the student to co-workers and the team.
  • Set your student up with a virtual buddy and meet with them to show your support.  
  • Establish preliminary work objectives and a learning plan, including all required courses and training. Explain how your organization, as well as their tasks, contribute to the mandate of the organization.
  • Provide the student with their first assignment during the first week.
  • Get the student to register on GCcollab and to set up an account on GCcampus.
  • Establish a weekly or bi-weekly check-in schedule.
  • Provide the student with a list of pay resources. Consult with your HR and IT departments. 

First Month

After the first month, your student will likely feel more settled in the new job. They might still be adjusting to a new routine, the context of working remotely, and getting to know their colleagues and the culture of the organization.

  • Follow-up with the student to confirm they are receiving their pay and it is accurate.
  • Offer to assist the student with finding a mentor.
  • Invite your student to attend a variety of meetings with you to gain a better understanding of the government procedures and decision-making process.
  • Invite your student to chair a team meeting.
  • Encourage the student to join formal and informal networks (e.g. Federal Youth Network, employment equity networks, or any other group on GCconnex).
  • Check-in regularly with the student to see how they are adjusting to working remotely and encourage them to speak freely about their overall experience to date.  

End of Placement

  • Review their work.
  • Provide feedback.
  • Invite feedback for your improvement.
  • Recognize and celebrate the student for their contributions.

Additional Resources

Here are a few resources to assist you in maximizing your student onboarding experience:


Features

COVID19

Information for Government of Canada employees: Coronavirus disease (COVID-19)

Updates for employees on COVID-19, telework, advisories, messages and resources to share.
COVID-19: Learning resources

COVID-19: Learning resourcesNew

Learning resources for public servants during the COVID-19 pandemic.

This website is continually being updated in response to your feedback.

Let us know what you think of it.
Which platform is your comment about:
Enter your email if you would like a reply:
Date modified:

Guide du Gestionnaire : Intégration Pendant la COVID-19

Cet outil de référence rapide contient des trucs et conseils pour aider les gestionnaires avec l'intégration des stagiaires qui travaillent à distance.

   Téléchargez en PDF (293 ko)  


Les circonstances exceptionnelles créées par la pandémie de la COVID-19 poussent la fonction publique à repenser ses façons de fonctionner, notamment lorsqu'il est question d'intégrer les nouveaux membres de l'équipe dans un contexte virtuel ou éloigné, ou même, dans certains cas, dans une combinaison de milieux de travail virtuels et physiques.

Pourquoi l'intégration est-elle importante dans le contexte de la COVID-19?

En « circonstances normales », l'intégration est essentielle à l'établissement d'une première impression positive auprès des nouveaux employés; il s'agit d'un processus permettant de les accueillir dans l'équipe et de les encourager à s'intégrer dans la culture organisationnelle. Une bonne intégration peut accroître la satisfaction des employés, leur engagement, leur rendement et leur maintien en poste. Le lien établi est d'autant plus important dans un contexte où il peut être impossible d'accéder à un milieu de travail physique, à du matériel ou des fournitures de bureau, à des réunions « en personne » ou à des outils de communication fiables et constants, sans compter que la nature, le rythme et l'ampleur du travail pourraient avoir changé.

En s'appuyant sur les piliers d'Au-delà de 2020, ce guide est conçu pour vous préparer à fournir aux étudiants une expérience positive, la possibilité de faire du travail valorisant, ainsi qu'une meilleure compréhension des perspectives de carrière au sein de la fonction publique fédérale. Cela contribue directement à la priorité d'emploi concernant la politique jeunesse pour le Canada.

Soyez agile

La situation vous demande de repenser, d'étudier et d'exploiter de nouvelles façons de communiquer avec vos employés, de les garder motivés et de les garder sur la bonne voie tout en leur fournissant des ressources et en les mettant en relation avec leurs collègues. L'heure est à la créativité et à l'apprentissage des méthodes permettant d'exercer son leadership virtuellement, tout en outillant les nouveaux employés pour la réussite. Il est aussi le moment de démontrer que votre unité de travail est inclusive et qu'elle valorise la contribution de chaque membre de l'équipe.

Ayez un plan

Préparez un plan pour l'étudiant recouvrant son intégration au sein de l'équipe et le travail que vous prévoyez lui attribuer. Soyez prêt à rajuster votre plan en fonction des besoins de l'étudiant et à discuter ouvertement avec lui sur la meilleure façon de l'appuyer. Ayez un plan en vue de vous préparer à son arrivée (lequel doit recouvrir, notamment, comment vous comptez intégrer les mesures d'adaptation en milieu de travail en temps opportun, le cas échéant), un plan pour le premier jour et la première semaine de travail, ainsi qu'un plan pour examiner les progrès réalisés dans le cadre de son placement. Restez ouverts et compréhensifs aux préférences de l'étudiant concernant la façon dont il souhaite s'engager, et notez que cette préférence peut changer et évoluer au fil du temps. Utilisez les listes de vérification se trouvant à la fin de ce guide pour vous aider à naviguer à travers les différentes étapes.

Si l'étudiant travaille sur place, assurez-vous de l'informer de toutes les mesures mises en place pour assurer sa sécurité en milieu de travail. Préparez-vous à répondre à ses questions et ses préoccupations.

Assemblez une trousse de bienvenue numérique

Réunissez les renseignements et les ressources disponibles dans un format numérique et accessible, afin d'en permettre l'échange et l'accès à distance (documents, liens, réseaux, etc.). Il ne faut pas oublier que certains étudiants n'auront peut-être pas immédiatement accès à vos réseaux internes, ou encore aux logiciels dont ils ont besoin pour lire les documents. Tenez compte de ces facteurs dans votre choix d'emplacement et de format aux fins de partage. Pensez à d'autres façons de communiquer l'information (p. ex., séances d'information virtuelles, le jumelage avec un « accompagnateur virtuel » dans le but d'aider l'étudiant à se familiariser avec le travail et les pratiques opérationnelles).

Communiquez avec votre service des ressources humaines

Renseignez-vous sur les documents qui sont déjà disponibles en ligne en vue de faciliter l'intégration et l'apprentissage. Actualisez cette ressource régulièrement afin de vous assurer qu'elle demeure pertinente et à jour.

Planifier des séances d'accueil et de présentations virtuelles

Soyez la première personne à accueillir l'étudiant dans le cadre d'une rencontre en face à face par vidéo (p. ex., au moyen de Microsoft Teams, Webex) afin d'établir une connexion personnelle. Assurez-vous de vous renseigner auprès de l'étudiant afin de savoir avec quelles plateformes de réunion virtuelle il est le plus à l'aise.

Organisez des séances de présentations virtuelles avec les membres de l'équipe au moyen de technologies vidéo, afin de permettre l'association des noms avec la voix ou le visage.

Renseignez-vous auprès de vos services de ressources humaines (RH) ou de technologies de l'information (TI) à propos des différentes technologies de communication en face à face disponibles au sein de votre ministère.

Soyez outillé

Prenez le temps de vous munir des outils dont vous aurez besoin pour gérer les personnes et les équipes dans un contexte virtuel ou à distance, et prenez connaissance des outils dont dispose votre ministère. Cela signifie que vous devez vous assurer que la technologie en question fonctionne, que l'équipe y a accès et que vous pourrez continuer de bâtir votre boîte à outils personnelle autour du travail virtuel, du leadership et de la création d'un milieu de travail accessible et inclusif.

Une de vos principales responsabilités consiste à vous assurer que les étudiants disposent des outils dont ils ont besoin dès leur première journée. S'il est impossible pour un étudiant d'obtenir un ordinateur portable du gouvernement ou d'accéder au réseau en ligne, tâchez de discuter avec lui afin de déterminer à quelles technologies l'étudiant a accès, la qualité de sa connectivité internet et son niveau de confort avec les différentes plateformes en ligne. Ne présumez pas que les étudiants comprennent tous également comment se servir des nouvelles approches en ligne.

Une mine de renseignements et de ressources qui ne cesse de s'accroître est mise à la disposition des gestionnaires. Prenez le temps de les étudier avant l'arrivée de vos étudiants, et intégrez ces pratiques dans vos pratiques et votre gestion d'équipe :

Se connecter à FlexGC

Le réseau FlexGC est un collectif de fonctionnaire qui offrent bénévolement leur temps afin de partager des pratiques exemplaires et de fournir des conseils entre pairs aux employés et aux gestionnaires du gouvernement du Canada (GC) qui ont besoin d'aide avec le travail à distance. Vous pouvez communiquer avec eux sur GCcollab ou Twitter @FlexGCInfo.

Mobilisez la Communauté nationale des gestionnaires

La Communauté nationale des gestionnaires (CNG) est un réseau horizontal qui relie les gestionnaires de l'ensemble de la fonction publique fédérale avec leurs pairs et d'autres ressources utiles leur permettant d'atteindre leurs objectifs. La CNG tient des conférences virtuelles hebdomadaires visant à fournir aux gestionnaires des renseignements, des conseils, des outils et des pratiques exemplaires en temps opportun, afin de les aider à diriger et appuyer leurs équipes dans un contexte virtuel. Suivez la CNG via GCconnex, sur Twitter @NMC_CNG ou sur Facebook @NMCCNG.

Appuyez-vous sur l'École de la fonction publique du Canada (EFPC)

L'École de la fonction publique du Canada offre une série d'outils d'apprentissage qui vous aideront à travailler avec votre nouvel employé dans un environnement virtuel. Les parcours d'apprentissage sont accessibles depuis la page d'accueil de l'EFPC et sont organisés selon le thème et la collectivité. Le parcours d'apprentissage pour les gestionnaires et les superviseurs d'étudiants qui travaillent dans un environnement virtuel (COVID-19) comprend des ressources développées pour les gestionnaires et superviseurs visant à intégrer les étudiants. Le parcours d'apprentissage pour les étudiants quant à lui, offre aux étudiants une multitude de ressources et d'activités d'apprentissage qui leur permettront d'acquérir les connaissances de base pour soutenir leur travail dans un environnement de travail virtuel ou non-virtuel.

Désignez un accompagnateur virtuel

Demandez à un employé qui connaît bien le fonctionnement et rôle de votre ministère d'agir à titre d'accompagnateur virtuel afin d'aider l'étudiant à naviguer dans le système au cours de ses premières semaines. L'accompagnateur virtuel sert de guide pour aider l'étudiant à s'adapter à son nouveau rôle, répondre à ses questions et en l'orienter vers des ressources utiles.

Demandez à l'expert

Les étudiants possèdent une mine de connaissance sur l'utilisation des technologies. Demandez-leur de vous aider à en apprendre plus sur les dernières applications et leur fonctionnement; téléchargez-les sur votre appareil et explorez-les. Examinez aussi la possibilité de recourir au mentorat inversé pour permettre aux étudiants de mettre en valeur leur savoir-faire au profit de l'organisation.

Soyez inclusif

Créer une expérience positive pour les employés passe nécessairement par le la valorisation, l'appréciation et la reconnaissance des contributions de chaque membre de l'équipe. La création d'un milieu de travail accueillant, enrichissant et inclusif est essentielle lorsqu'on souhaite que les étudiants et le reste des employés puissent contribuer au meilleur de leurs capacités et atteindre leur plein potentiel. Demandez aux étudiants de vous accompagner à une variété de réunions en utilisant l'approche «Emmenez-moi avec vous» pour leur permettre d'acquérir une meilleure compréhension de votre ministère, de son rôle et du processus décisionnel.  

Faites preuve d'empathie

Portez attention à la santé mentale des étudiants qui pourraient vivre seuls ou autrement se sentir isolés du milieu de travail, et faites preuve d'empathie. Comprenez que les étudiants peuvent déjà être aux prises avec des difficultés importantes, que ce soit dans leur domicile, dans leur établissement universitaire ou dans leur environnement social, et que ceux-ci pourraient avoir des proches ayant été aux prises avec la COVID-19. Soyez ouvert à la discussion et faites tout ce que vous pouvez pour adapter le milieu de travail aux étudiants, qu'il soit question d'assouplir les heures de travail, de prolonger les échéances ou de modifier les documents de travail. Le stress et les perturbations engendrés par la pandémie mondiale pourraient avoir une incidence sur leur adaptation dans le milieu de travail.

Le Centre d'expertise pour la santé mentale en milieu de travail dispose de ressources, d'outils et de services pour aider les employés à maintenir leur santé mentale.

Créer un milieu de travail inclusif et accessible

Assurez-vous d'avoir discuté des mesures d'adaptation requises avec les étudiants et visez de les mettre en place avant leur première journée. Collaborez avec vos services de RH et de TI pour tirer parti des services et des ressources disponibles dans le cadre du Programme d'accessibilité, d'adaptation et de technologie informatique adaptée (AATIA) pour toute mesure requise liée à l'accessibilité, l'accommodement ou technologie adaptée.

Consultez la page GCpédia du Bureau de l'accessibilité au sein de la fonction publique afin d'obtenir des ressources concernant la création de documents accessibles, ou pour en connaître plus au sujet du Passeport pour l'accessibilité en milieu de travail du gouvernement du Canada.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la façon de planifier des réunions au moyen du Guide de planification de réunions inclusives disponible via le Centre de ressources sur l'accessibilité d'Emploi et Développement social Canada.

Sollicitez la rétroaction

Il peut être facile de perdre le fil de la progression de l'étudiant une fois l'intégration terminée. Une fois établi dans leur travail, demandez à vos étudiants de vous fournir de la rétroaction, et donnez-y suite. L'efficacité à long terme de l'intégration dépend de la qualité de l'intégration offerte à vos étudiants au-delà des quelques premières semaines. Les liens et les expériences qu'ils auront acquis leur seront précieux même après la fin de leur placement.

Soutenez les étudiants de l'Occasion d'emploi pour étudiants en situation de handicap

L'Occasion d'emploi pour les étudiants autochtones, sous la bannière du Programme fédéral d'expérience de travail étudiant, est une initiative nationale de recrutement pour les étudiants qui se déclarent comme Autochtones. L'initiative offre des ressources, formation, activités et services de soutien tant aux gestionnaires qu'aux étudiants dans le but d'améliorer l'inclusion des personnes autochtones dans la fonction publique.

Renforcez votre compréhension des cultures, des protocoles et des rituels autochtones afin de vous aider à travailler avec les étudiants autochtones et à bâtir de bonnes relations avec eux. La page de ressources de l'Occasion d'emploi pour étudiants autochtones fournit aux gestionnaires et aux participants plusieurs outils et ressources.

Soutenez les étudiants de l'Occasion d'emploi pour étudiants autochtones

L'Occasion d'emploi pour les étudiants autochtones, sous la bannière du Programme fédéral d'expérience de travail étudiant, est une initiative nationale de recrutement pour les étudiants qui se déclarent comme Autochtones. L'initiative offre des ressources, formation, activités et services de soutien tant aux gestionnaires qu'aux étudiants dans le but d'améliorer l'inclusion des personnes autochtones dans la fonction publique.

Renforcez votre compréhension des cultures, des protocoles et des rituels autochtones afin de vous aider à travailler avec les étudiants autochtones et à bâtir de bonnes relations avec eux. La page de ressources de l'Occasion d'emploi pour étudiants autochtones fournit aux gestionnaires et aux participants plusieurs outils et ressources.

Étapes d'intégration : Liste de vérification du gestionnaire

Avant l'arrivée

Il s'agit de l'occasion de vous préparer à l'arrivée de vos nouveaux employés et de faire bonne première impression. Essayez de faire en sorte qu'ils se sentent bien accueillis et intégrés à l'équipe avant qu'ils n'arrivent.

  • Maintenez les communications au moyen de courriels, d'appels téléphoniques ou de vidéos avant la date d'entrée en fonction afin de répondre à toute question concernant la logistique, les technologies, les attentes en matière de travail et les possibilités d'apprentissage.
  • Collaborez avec les RH et les TI en vue d'effectuer l'ensemble des tâches administratives bien avant l'arrivée de l'étudiant, et veiller à ce que les documents liés à la paye soient traités conformément aux échéanciers du Centre des services de paye. Le processus et les échéanciers peuvent différer selon le ministère où encore être modifiés en réponse à la situation entourant la COVID-19 (p. ex., lettres d'offres, formulaires, configuration des technologies pour l'utilisation à domicile).
  • Entamez les mesures d'adaptation nécessaires bien avant la date d'entrée en fonction de l'étudiant afin d'avoir suffisamment de temps pour les mettre en œuvre, surtout lorsque le travail se fait à distance (rajustement des horaires de travail, fourniture d'outils de travail spécialisés [matériels ou logiciels]).
  • Établissez un plan permettant d'intégrer, de soutenir et de communiquer avec l'étudiant pendant la durée complète de son stage. Assurez-vous de bien cerner la meilleure façon et le meilleur moment de communiquer avec lui.
  • Identifiez le travail et les tâches que l'étudiant pourra accomplir durant sa première semaine de travail.
  • Désignez un membre de l'équipe à titre d'accompagnateur virtuel afin de soutenir l'étudiant.
  • Assemblez une trousse d'accueil accessible.
  • Mettez du temps de côté pour rencontrer et guider l'étudiant lors de sa première journée.

Première journée et première semaine

La première journée et la première semaine marquent le début d'une importante période d'adaptation pour le nouvel employé. Ce dernier pourrait se sentir nerveux ou appréhensif.

  • Accueillez votre nouvel employé lors de son premier jour de travail au moyen d'outils vidéo accessibles.
  • Passez en revue avec l'étudiant les questions et les documents les plus importants. Veillez à ce que l'étudiant remplisse l'ensemble des formulaires administratifs ou autrement requis par les RH.
  • Présentez le nouvel employé à ses collègues et à son équipe.
  • Jumelez un accompagnateur virtuel à votre employé et rencontrez-les tous les deux pour leur montrer votre soutien.
  • Établissez des objectifs de travail préliminaires et un plan d'apprentissage, y compris tous les cours et toutes les formations obligatoires. Prenez soin de lui expliquer comment votre organisme et les tâches qu'il réalise contribuent au mandat de l'organisation.
  • Donnez au nouvel employé sa première tâche au courant de la première semaine.
  • Veuillez à ce que l'étudiant s'inscrive à GCcollab et se crée un compte sur GCcampus.
  • Établissez un horaire de suivi hebdomadaire ou bimensuel.
  • Fournissez à l'étudiant une liste des ressources liées à la paye. Consultez vos services de RH et de TI.

Premier mois

Après son premier mois de travail, votre étudiant se sentira sans doute plus à l'aise dans son nouvel emploi. Il pourrait encore être en train de s'adapter à sa nouvelle routine et son milieu de travail à distance, et il n'a sans doute pas fini d'apprendre à connaître ses collègues et la culture de l'organisation.

  • Faites un suivi auprès de l'étudiant afin de confirmer qu'il reçoit sa paye et que celle-ci est exacte.
  • Offrez à votre étudiant de l'aider à trouver un mentor.
  • Invitez votre étudiant à participer à une variété de réunions en votre compagnie, afin qu'il puisse acquérir une meilleure compréhension du processus de prise de décisions, entre autres.
  • Invitez votre étudiant à présider à une réunion d'équipe.
  • Encouragez l'étudiant à se joindre à des réseaux formels et informels (par exemple, le Réseau des jeunes fonctionnaires fédéraux, divers réseaux pour membres de groupes d'équité en matière d'emploi, ou tout autre groupe sur GCconnex.
  • Communiquez régulièrement avec l'étudiant afin de voir comment il s'adapte au travail à distance, et encouragez-le à parler librement de son expérience générale à ce jour.  

Fin du stage

  • Examinez le travail.
  • Fournissez de la rétroaction.
  • Invitez la rétroaction sur les points à améliorer.
  • Soulignez et félicitez l'étudiant pour ses contributions.

Ressources supplémentaires pour les gestionnaires

Voici une liste de ressources pour vous aider à maximiser vos connaissances relatives à l'intégration des nouveaux étudiants :


En vedette

COVID19

Renseignements à l'intention des employés du gouvernement du Canada : maladie à coronavirus (COVID‑19)

Mise à jour à l'intention des employés sur COVID‑19, télétravail, avis, messages et ressources à partager.

COVID-19 : Ressources d'apprentissage

COVID-19 : Ressources d'apprentissageNouveau

Ressources d'apprentissage pour soutenir les fonctionnaires au courant de la pandémie de COVID‑19.

Ce site web est continuellement mis à jour en fonction de vos commentaires.

Dites-nous ce que vous en pensez.
Sur quelle plateforme porte votre commentaire :
Veuillez entrer votre courriel si vous souhaitez une réponse :
Date de modification :