Language selection

Search

Anti-Racism, Equity, and Inclusion: A Year After George Floyd

Description

The murder of George Floyd by a Minneapolis police officer in May 2020 ignited a global reckoning for the systemic racism and inequalities endured by Black communities across North America. Conversations previously held in community and allied spaces became mainstream overnight, with governments, businesses and individuals reflecting on their roles and the actions needed to better confront and combat inequality, discrimination and anti-Black racism.

This event will bring together public service leaders to discuss the actions and initiatives that the federal public service has taken in the last year on addressing the harmful impacts of systemic racism, discrimination, and hatred on Black, Indigenous and other racialized communities.

Participants will learn about the current challenges, reflect on lessons learned so far, and look ahead to the work that remains to be done. A live Q&A period will follow the panel discussion, during which participants may pose questions to the panelists about the current and future initiatives.

This event is part of the Canada School of Public Service's Anti-Racism Event Series and will be an annual event featuring deputy ministers and other representatives from across the federal public service who will share their organizations' actions towards achieving a truly equitable, diverse and inclusive public service.

Learn more about the Anti-Racism Event Series and Anti‑Racism Learning Series.

Speakers

  • Bill Matthews, Deputy Minister, Public Services and Procurement Canada, and Deputy Receiver General for Canada
  • Jody Thomas, Deputy Minister, National Defence
  • Caroline Xavier, Associate Deputy Minister, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada
  • Darren Ruck, Senior Human Resources Advisor, Public Services and Procurement Canada

Moderator

Myriam Montrat, Head of the Anti-Racism Secretariat, Global Affairs Canada


Features

Mobile App: Reconciliation: A Starting Point

Download the "Reconciliation: A Starting Point" app to access a wealth of information on Indigenous Peoples in Canada, key historical events, and reconciliation.

Indigenous Learning Series

Discover Canada's shared history with First Nations, Inuit and Métis Peoples.

This website is continually being updated in response to your feedback.

Let us know what you think of it.
Which platform is your comment about? (required)
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Lutte contre le racisme, équité et inclusion : un an après George Floyd

Description

Le meurtre de George Floyd par un policier de Minneapolis en mai 2020 a déclenché une prise de conscience mondiale du racisme systémique et des inégalités que subissent les communautés noires d'Amérique du Nord. Les conversations qui avaient auparavant lieu dans les espaces communautaires et alliés sont devenues chose courante du jour au lendemain, les gouvernements, les entreprises et les gens réfléchissant à leur rôle et aux actions nécessaires pour mieux affronter et combattre l'inégalité, la discrimination et le racisme envers les Noirs.

Cet événement réunira des leaders de la fonction publique qui discuteront des mesures et des initiatives que la fonction publique fédérale a mises de l'avant au cours de la dernière année pour lutter contre les effets néfastes du racisme, de la haine et de la discrimination systémiques sur les communautés noires, autochtones et autres communautés racisées.

Les participants et participantes découvriront les défis actuels, réfléchiront aux leçons apprises jusqu'à présent et se pencheront sur le travail qu'il reste à faire. Après la discussion, il y aura une période de questions en direct avec les panélistes sur les initiatives en cours et à venir.

Cet événement s'inscrit dans le cadre de la Série d'événements contre le racisme de l'École de la fonction publique du Canada et sera présenté annuellement. Des sous-ministres et d'autres personnes représentant la fonction publique fédérale y exposeront les mesures prises par leur organisation pour créer une fonction publique véritablement équitable, diversifiée et inclusive.

Apprenez-en plus sur la Série d'événements contre le racisme et la Série d'apprentissage contre le racisme.

Conférenciers

  • Bill Matthews, sous-ministre, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada et sous-receveur général du Canada
  • Jody Thomas, sous-ministre, Défense nationale
  • Caroline Xavier, sous-ministre déléguée, Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada
  • Darren Ruck, conseiller principal en ressources humaines, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Animation

Myriam Montrat, chef du Secrétariat de lutte contre le racisme, Affaires mondiales Canada


En vedette

Appli mobile « La réconciliation : un point de départ »

Téléchargez l'appli « La réconciliation : un point de départ » pour accéder à une mine d'informations sur les peuples autochtones du Canada, des événements historiques et la réconciliation.

Série d'apprentissage sur les questions autochtones

Découvrez l'histoire commune du Canada avec les Premières nations, les Inuits et les Métis.

Ce site web est continuellement mis à jour en fonction de vos commentaires.

Dites-nous ce que vous en pensez.
Sur quelle plateforme porte votre commentaire? (obligatoire)
Date de modification :