Language selection

Search

The History of People of African Descent in Canada

In this podcast, Dr. Isaac Saney discusses and explains the history of people of African descent in Canada and the long struggle for freedom and self-determination.

Duration: 05:32
Date: March 18, 2021

Transcript

The History of People of African Descent in Canada

Narrator: You are listening to an excerpt from the event on "Understanding Anti-Black Racism and How to Be an Ally". This podcast is part of a micro-learning series based on this event. This event was the first in a series organized in collaboration with the Federal Black Employee Caucus. We thank you for joining us in this space, as we explore the meaning of anti-Black racism and allyship in Canada throughout the micro-learning series.

The following talk features Dr. Isaac Saney, director of the Transition Year Program at Dalhousie University. Dr. Saney holds a PhD in history, from the School of Oriental and African Studies at the University of London, and a Juris Doctor from Dalhousie's Schulich School of Law.

Music Cue

Dr. Isaac Saney: What I would like to begin with, as a historian, in my brief remarks, is to underscore the history of people of African descent in Canada. I think it's important to understand that the two primary victims of colonialism in Canada or "the Canadas" have been obviously the Indigenous peoples in their various nations, as well as people of African descent.

There has been a long presence of people of African descent, but also accompanying that, a long struggle for freedom for self-determination. We have a long history of slavery here that is often not acknowledged. While we often associate slavery with something being in the United States, and that is part of the Canadian conceit, that somehow Canada is the endpoint of the Underground Railroad and that slavery, brutalization, Jim Crow segregation, all of these things, are something that has taken place in the United States. So, the explosion of protests over George Floyd's murder comes, not simply because his represents a long litany of crimes against people of African descent, but also in Canada and across the world, we've had solidarity demonstrations precisely because some of those things have happened here in Canada and those countries as well.

I think one of the things that's shocked people was the fact that we can point to a history of slavery in Canada. We can point to a history of Africans being sold. We can point to the brutalization of Africans and the stories I've collected speak of this brutality. So while slavery may never have achieved the numbers and perhaps the economic weight that it had in the United States, it established a constellation of values, dynamics and practices that have continued to shape, profoundly, the trajectory of people of African descent. So, when we talk about this history, when we talk about the history of people of African descent, we're not just simply talking about an accidental or conjectural fortuitous appearance within the Canadian historiography, it was also the denial of their citizenship right. It was not just simply a denial of their rights; it was a denial of the very idea that they could have rights. And I think this has profoundly shaped the Black experience in Canada and it's profoundly shaped the institutional racism, the systemic racism and the racism embedded in the state structure and practices that continue to have this deleterious impact on people of African descent.

One of the key points is that, underscoring all of this, from the existence of slavery to the establishment of Black organizations to deal with the conditions they faced, to the struggles of the 60s and even onwards, is the idea that Black oppression, Black marginalization, Black exploitation, disenfranchisement is central to the foundation of the Canadian state, the Canadian colonial settler state. And as we face this outpouring or protest as we've witnessed, shall we say, the very profound demands for justice, the very profound demands for fundamental social change, what people are calling out, which is obvious, is beyond simply rhetoric, beyond simply the acknowledgement of the Black presence in Canada, but real concrete deployment of resources, changes in policies and state structure to address this marginalization of people of African descent.

So we are faced with a profound task, but our consciousness has been raised that unless we address this fundamental issue of anti-Black racism and understand its specificity, understand that it is central to the foundation of the Canadian state, then the problems and the protests against these injustices will continue. As Mumia Abu-Jamal once said, it's only through struggle that we can transform the dull realities that we live in. So, when I look at the various protests that have taken place, when I've talked with students who have taken my courses, when I've seen people speaking out and when I've seen people acknowledging this long history of oppression and pain, I am optimistic, but my optimism is tempered by the fact that we must go beyond rhetoric. We must go beyond action in order to remedy and rectify these historical injustices and this historical pattern of disenfranchisement and marginalization.

Music Cue

Narrator: That was Dr. Isaac Saney, director of the Transition Year Program at Dalhousie University. Dr. Saney is a long-time community activist in the anti-war movement and anti-racism struggle. His roots lie in the Caribbean and the Black Nova-Scotian community. He is the author of Cuba: A Revolution in Motion, and he is currently finishing his next book, Africa's Children Return: Cuba and the Global Black Liberation Struggle.

Features

Mobile App: Reconciliation: A Starting Point

Download the "Reconciliation: A Starting Point" app to access a wealth of information on Indigenous Peoples in Canada, key historical events, and reconciliation.

Anti-Racism Learning Series

The Anti-Racism Learning Series provides access to tools, job aids, courses, workshops and events on topics such as anti-Black racism, unconscious bias, disaggregated data, mental health and the challenges faced by visible minorities in the public service.

This website is continually being updated in response to your feedback.

Let us know what you think of it.
Which platform is your comment about? (required)
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

L'histoire des personnes d'ascendance africaine au Canada

Dans ce balado, Isaac Saney, Ph. D., décrit et explique l'histoire des personnes d'ascendance africaine au Canada et la longue lutte pour la liberté et l'autodétermination.

Épisode en anglais seulement

Durée : 05:32
Date : 18 mars 2021

Transcription

L'histoire des personnes de descendance africaine au Canada

Narrateur : Vous écoutez un extrait de l'événement « Comprendre le racisme envers les Noirs et comment devenir un allié ». Ce balado fait partie d'une microsérie d'apprentissage en lien avec cet événement, qui était le premier d'une série organisée en collaboration avec le Caucus des employés fédéraux noirs. Nous vous remercions de vous joindre à nous dans cet espace pour tenter de comprendre la signification du racisme envers les Noirs ainsi que la notion d'allié au Canada. C'est ce que nous ferons tout au long de la microsérie d'apprentissage.

Le balado suivant présente le Dr. Isaac Saney, directeur du programme d'année de transition de l'Université Dalhousie. Dr. Saney possède un Ph.D. en histoire du Département des études orientales et africaines de l'Université de Londres, et un doctorat en droit de l'École de droit de l'Université Dalhousie.

Jalon musical

Dr. Isaac Saney : En tant qu'historien, j'aimerais commencer par de brèves remarques pour mettre en relief l'histoire des personnes d'origine africaine au Canada. Je crois qu'il est important de comprendre que les deux principales victimes du colonialisme au Canada ou dans les « Canada » ont été, bien évidemment, les peuples autochtones de diverses nations et les personnes d'ascendance africaine.

La présence de personnes d'ascendance africaine remonte loin dans notre histoire, mais elle est aussi accompagnée d'une longue lutte pour la liberté et l'autodétermination. Nous avons ici une longue histoire d'esclavage qui est rarement reconnue. Nous associons souvent l'esclavage à une situation qui a pris naissance aux États-Unis. Cela fait partie du concept canadien selon lequel le Canada a été en quelque sorte le terminus du chemin de fer clandestin et que l'esclavage, les brutalités et la ségrégation imposée par les lois Jim Crow font partie des événements de l'histoire des États Unis. Donc, l'explosion de manifestations à la suite du meurtre de George Floyd découle non seulement du fait que ce crime s'inscrit dans une longue série de crimes contre des personnes d'ascendance africaine, mais aussi parce qu'au Canada et partout dans le monde, nous avons tenu des manifestations de solidarité, précisément parce que des crimes similaires ont eu lieu ici, au Canada, tout comme dans d'autres pays.

Je pense qu'un des éléments qui a choqué les gens, c'est que nous avons pu révéler l'histoire de l'esclavage au Canada. Nous pouvons parler de l'histoire d'Africains qui ont été vendus. Nous pouvons parler de la brutalité imposée aux Africains et les histoires que j'ai recueillies illustrent cette brutalité. Donc, l'esclavage au Canada n'a peut-être pas permis d'atteindre des sommets statistiques ou d'avoir une incidence économique comme aux États-Unis, mais il a permis d'instaurer une pléiade de dynamiques, de valeurs et de pratiques qui ont continué de forger profondément la trajectoire des personnes d'ascendance africaine. Donc, quand nous parlons de cette histoire, de l'histoire des personnes d'ascendance africaine, nous ne parlons pas simplement d'un accident ou d'une conjecture d'apparence fortuite dans l'historiographie canadienne, nous parlons de la négation de leurs droits à la citoyenneté et de l'idée même qu'ils pouvaient avoir des droits. Je pense que cela a profondément marqué l'expérience des Noirs au Canada. Le racisme institutionnel et systémique s'est profondément ancré dans la structure de l'État et les pratiques qui continuent d'avoir cette incidence délétère sur les personnes d'ascendance africaine.

Parmi les points fondamentaux qui illustrent cela, il faut souligner que des débuts de l'esclavage à la création d'organisations noires pour faire face aux conditions auxquelles les Noirs étaient confrontés, jusqu'aux luttes des années 60 et même au-delà, l'oppression des Noirs, la marginalisation des Noirs, l'exploitation des Noirs et la privation de leurs droits sont au cœur de la fondation de l'État canadien, l'État colonisateur canadien. Devant ce déferlement ou cette protestation dont nous avons été témoins, dirons-nous, les demandes très profondes de justice, les demandes très profondes de changement social fondamental, ce que les gens réclament, ce qui est évident, va au-delà de la simple rhétorique, au-delà de la simple reconnaissance de la présence noire au Canada. Il faut un déploiement concret de ressources et de changements dans les politiques et la structure de l'État pour pallier cette marginalisation des personnes d'ascendance africaine.

Nous avons donc une tâche ardue devant nous et il nous faut régler ce problème fondamental de racisme anti-noir et comprendre son caractère distinct, car si nous ne comprenons pas qu'il est au cœur de la fondation de l'État canadien, les problèmes et les manifestations contre ces injustices continueront. Comme l'a déjà dit Mumia Abu-Jamal, c'est seulement en luttant que nous pouvons transformer la triste réalité dans laquelle nous vivons. Quand je regarde les diverses manifestations qui ont eu lieu, quand je discute avec des étudiants qui ont suivi mes cours, quand je vois des personnes parler haut et fort et quand je vois des gens reconnaître cette longue histoire d'oppression et de souffrance, je suis optimiste, mais mon optimisme est tempéré par le fait que nous devons aller au-delà des belles paroles. Nous devons aller au-delà de l'action afin de pallier et corriger ces injustices historiques et ce modèle d'histoire de privation des droits et de marginalisation.

Jalon musical

Narrateur : Vous venez d'entendre le Dr. Isaac Saney, directeur du programme d'année de transition de l'Université Dalhousie. Le Dr. Saney est un activiste communautaire de longue date. Il participe aussi au mouvement antiguerre et à la lutte antiraciste. Ses racines sont imprégnées dans la communauté noire néo écossaise et les Caraïbes. Il est l'auteur de Cuba: A Revolution in Motion, et il termine actuellement l'écriture de son prochain livre, Africa's Children Return: Cuba and the Global Black Liberation Struggle.

En vedette

Appli mobile « La réconciliation : un point de départ »

Téléchargez l'appli « La réconciliation : un point de départ » pour accéder à une mine d'informations sur les peuples autochtones du Canada, des événements historiques et la réconciliation.

Série d'apprentissage contre le racisme

La Série d'apprentissage contre le racisme donne accès à des outils de travail, des cours, des ateliers et des événements portant sur des sujets tels que le racisme envers les Noirs, les préjugés inconscients, les données désagrégées, la santé mentale et les défis rencontrés par les minorités visibles dans la fonction publique.

Ce site web est continuellement mis à jour en fonction de vos commentaires.

Dites-nous ce que vous en pensez.
Sur quelle plateforme porte votre commentaire? (obligatoire)
Date de modification :