Language selection

Search

Understanding Anti-Black Racism and How to Be an Ally: Addressing Anti-Black Racism in the Federal Public Service

Description: In this video, various experts provide information and suggestions on how to combat anti-Black racism in the Canadian federal public service.

Date: March 18, 2021

Duration: 00:06:39

Resolution: 1080p


Transcript

[A white and purple background appears with the title "Understanding Anti-Black Racism & How to Be an Ally — Addressing Anti-Black Racism in the Federal Public Service"]

[A black background with white text appears with the title "Who is FBEC? (Federal Black Employee Caucus)"]

Richard Sharpe: The Federal Black Employee Caucus is a group of Black employees that formed two years ago to address

[The text "Richard Sharpe: Co-founder, Federal Black Employee Caucus" and the logo for FBEC appear at the bottom of the screen and then disappears]

some of the outstanding, systemic anti-Black racism that employees have been facing for a number of years. I was actually a union person for many years dealing with cases, and of the hundreds of cases that I've dealt with, more than half were from Black and other racialized employees. So, over the course of the last couple of years, there was really a call to address this. The United Nations Decade for People of African Descent was adopted by the Government of Canada in January 2018, and that gave us what we believe to be policy cover to look at how we can help the public service address these issues within. So, we're public servants, most of the employees that are with us are on assignment with FBEC. FBEC formed, to some extent, outside of government. We do not take government money, we're completely self-funded and, other than the loaners from departments, we are self-driven, self-led, Black-led.

So, to speak just a little bit about why we need FBEC, and I think this probably the most important part of that question, you know, we continue to hear the cries from Black employees from across the public service of maltreatment.

History has shown us that if you are not Black-led, if this work is not Black-led, then we continue as Black employees to be left at the back of the bus, the visible minority bus. And we feel that our engagement is critically necessary to keep it real. We can't go back to what we had before, and I think that that's the gift.

[A black background with white text appears with the title "How can the Public Service effectuate meaningful change to address systemic anti-Black racism?"]

What the federal Public Service needs is an anti-Black racism strategy and an action plan

[An image of 4 people in a videoconference appears. The speaker, Richard Sharpe, is in the upper left  corner]

to address anti-Black racism, not only within the public service, but also externally.

So, an anti-racism strategy that has a strong component of anti-Black racism strategy and approach is definitely what needs to be done.

[The speaker, Isaac Saney, is in the lower right corner]

[The text "Isaac Saney, Director, Transition Year Program and University Teaching Fellow, Black Studies, Dalhousie University" appears at the bottom right of the screen and then disappears]

Isaac Saney: It's time to actually implement, it's time to put these things into practice, right? We've been studied to death. I don't think we need to have another report established that racism does exist in Canada.

The Black community in Canada has not been helpless and hapless spectators as history has unfolded around them. They haven't been hapless and helpless in terms of trying to rectify their conditions and numerous organizations, or form new initiatives and programs that I could enumerate, but we don't have time, have taken place, right? So the Black community has been the centre of these struggles to expand its envelope of freedom, its claim on citizenship, and I think in a sense, involving the communities and involving these organizations is central in and of itself. If these policies aren't organically linked to Black communities, they will not succeed and in fact they will be very counterproductive.

[An image of 5 people in a videoconference appears. The speaker, Patricia Harewood, is on the right]

[The text "Patricia Harewood, Legal Officer (In-house Counsel), Public Service Alliance of Canada" appears at the bottom right of the screen and then disappears]

You can also see that there's a clear management accountability framework.

[Patricia Harewood is speaking in French with English subtitles on screen]

Patricia Harewood: So, the accountability for managers within the public service is absolutely key. So, it has to be implemented. We've had the Employment Equity Act for 25 years, we've had the Canadian Human Rights Act for decades, but anti-Black racism persists. 

[A black background with white text appears with the title "What is the best way to address racism in the workplace?"]

[An image of 4 people in a videoconference appears. The speaker, Richard Sharpe, is in the upper left  corner]

[The text "Richard Sharpe: Co-founder, Federal Black Employee Caucus" appears at the bottom left of the screen and then disappears]

What FBEC has been promoting is something called "positive measures" to address our gross under-representation at senior levels and at various tables across various shops across the public service. The majority of Black public servants are clustered at the lower levels of the organizations for no fault of their own. They just haven't had the opportunity. So, what we're suggesting that the public service do, and all the departments can actually do this, is use existing tools to help promote and advance Black and other racialized employees.

So, you need to have something that's targeted

[An image of 5 people in a videoconference appears. The speaker, Richard Sharpe, is in the upper left  corner]

and to have some difficult conversations as to why within the visible minority group, Blacks, who are just as educated if not more educated than some of their other colleagues don't get chances to move. There is discrimination and anti-Black racism that happens even within these visible minority groups. So, it means that you have to do something very different than what you're used to, it means to use positive measures to be able to force those changes onto the system and not wait for changes to take place through training and attrition. If we do that we will be having this conversation with my son and my daughters 25 years from now.

[The speaker, Hantz Prosper, is in the lower left corner]

[The text "Hantz Prosper, Senior Director, Science and Parliamentary Infrastructure Branch, Public Services and Procurement Canada" appears at the bottom left of the screen and then disappears]

Hantz Prosper: I wanted to also encourage all my colleagues within the government that have hiring authorities and delegations, that each of you can make a difference on this. It's not only from a policy, like we have all the policy coverage. It's part of our responsibility if we look at our core values and our competencies, we have to have a diverse and inclusive workplace and we're responsible for that.

Isaac Saney: So, it's all good to have well-meaning and supportive individuals who are willing to drive these agendas, but when we rely on them, it becomes extremely precarious and tenuous, right? So, that's why I welcome people who come forward, but I also focus a lot on we need policies, we need structures to change, so that when these people depart, the momentum continues. These structures exist so that these powerful initiatives can go forward.

Patricia Harewood: Again, it's about accountability and it's about power and where power resides. If you as a manager hold power, then you need to be accountable. So, what Professor Saney is saying about policies embedded in structural change, where there is an actual management accountability framework that is embedded in the structure that makes a manager's performance dependent on whether or not they have actually implemented anti-Black racism strategies, policies and practices. That's what needs to happen.

[Screen goes dark and CSPS logo appears then disappears]

[canada.ca/school appears then disappears]

Features

Complete your census today!

Help your community make choices about education, employment, transportation, health care and housing services.

COVID-19: Learning resourcesNew

Consult learning resources for public servants during the COVID-19 pandemic.

This website is continually being updated in response to your feedback.

Let us know what you think of it.
Which platform is your comment about:

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Comprendre le racisme envers les Noirs et comment devenir un allié : Combattre le racisme envers les Noirs dans la fonction publique fédérale

Description : Dans cette vidéo, divers experts fournissent de l'information et des suggestions sur les façons de lutter contre le racisme envers les Noirs dans la fonction publique fédérale canadienne.

Date : 14 juillet 2020

Durée : 00:06:39

Résolution : 1080p


Transcription

[Le texte suivant s'affiche sur un arrière‑plan blanc et mauve : « Comprendre le racisme envers les Noirs et comment devenir un allié – Combattre le racisme envers les Noirs dans la fonction publique fédérale ».]

[Le texte (blanc) suivant s'affiche sur un arrière‑plan noir : « Qu'est‑ce que le CFEN (Caucus des employés fédéraux noirs)? ».]

Richard Sharpe : Le CEFN est un groupe d'employés noirs qui s'est créé il y a deux ans pour lutter

[Le texte « Richard Sharpe, Cofondateur, Caucus des employés fédéraux noirs » et le logo du CEFN s'affichent au bas de l'écran avant de disparaître.]

contre certaines discriminations liées au racisme systémique envers les Noirs auxquelles sont confrontés les employés noirs depuis des années. J'ai été en fait un syndicaliste pendant de nombreuses années et, sur les centaines de cas que j'ai traités, plus de la moitié concernaient des employés noirs ou des employés d'autres groupes racisés. Ainsi, ces deux dernières années, il y a eu un véritable appel à l'action. La Décennie internationale des personnes de descendance africaine a été adoptée par le gouvernement du Canada en janvier 2018, ce qui nous donne ce que nous pensons être l'assurance politique nécessaire pour étudier comment nous pouvons aider la fonction publique à s'attaquer aux problèmes qui existent en son sein. Nous sommes donc des fonctionnaires, et la plupart des employés qui sont avec nous sont détachés au CEFN. Le CEFN s'est formé, dans une certaine mesure, en dehors du gouvernement. Nous ne recevons aucun fonds du gouvernement, nous nous autofinançons entièrement et, mis à part le fait que certains membres sont prêtés par des ministères, le CEFN est autonome, autogéré et dirigé par des Noirs.

Donc, pour expliquer un peu pourquoi avons besoin du CEFN, et je crois que c'est sans doute la partie la plus importante de la question, c'est tout simplement parce que nous continuons d'entendre les appels à l'aide d'employés noirs qui se font maltraiter et viennent de tous les secteurs de la fonction publique.

L'histoire nous a montré que si les Noirs ne sont pas à la direction d'un mouvement, si le travail n'est pas dirigé par des Noirs, nous serons, comme employés noirs, encore laissés à l'arrière du bus, le bus des minorités visibles. Et nous sentons que notre mobilisation est absolument essentielle si nous voulons rester réalistes. Nous ne pouvons plus revenir à la situation antérieure, et je crois que c'est une chance.

[Le texte suivant (blanc) s'affiche sur un arrière‑plan noir : « Comment la fonction publique peut‑elle effectuer de véritables changements pour combattre le racisme systémique envers les Noirs? ».]

Richard Sharpe : Ce dont le Cabinet ou la fonction publique fédérale a besoin, c'est d'une stratégie contre le racisme envers les Noirs, et d'un plan d'action

[L'image de quatre participants à une vidéoconférence s'affiche. Le conférencier, Richard Sharpe, se trouve dans le coin supérieur gauche.]

pour combattre ce racisme, non seulement dans la fonction publique, mais aussi à l'extérieur.

Une stratégie antiraciste qui inclut une approche et un volet importants sur le racisme envers les Noirs est assurément ce à quoi il faut travailler.

[Le conférencier, Isaac Saney, se trouve dans le coin inférieur droit.]

[Le texte « Isaac Saney, Directeur du Programme de l'année de transition et adjoint à l'enseignement universitaire, Études sur les noires, Université Dalhousie » s'affiche dans la partie inférieure droite de l'écran avant de disparaître.]

Isaac Saney : Alors, maintenant, c'est le moment de concrétiser les choses, n'est-ce pas? Notre situation a été examinée sous toutes les coutures et je ne pense pas que nous ayons besoin d'un autre rapport pour établir que le racisme existe au Canada.

Les communautés noires au Canada ne sont pas demeurés des spectateurs impuissants et prostrés alors que l'histoire se déroulait autour d'eux. Ils ne l'ont pas été puisqu'ils se sont efforcés d'améliorer leurs conditions et de nombreuses organisations, de lancer des initiatives ou de créer des programmes que je pourrais énumérer, mais nous n'avons pas le temps, n'est-ce pas? Les communautés noires ont donc été au centre de ces luttes pour étendre leur accès à la liberté, pour revendiquer la citoyenneté, et je pense que, dans un sens, la participation des communautés et celle de ces organisations sont centrales de manière intrinsèque. Si ces politiques ne sont pas organiquement liées aux communautés noires, elles ne réussiront pas et en fait, seront très contre-productives.

[L'image de cinq participants à une vidéoconférence s'affiche. La conférencière, Patricia Harewood, se trouve à droite.]

[Le texte « Patricia Harewood, Juriste (conseillère juridique interne), Alliance de la fonction publique du Canada » s'affiche dans la partie inférieure droite de l'écran avant de disparaître.]

Patricia Harewood : On peut voir également qu'il existe un cadre clair de responsabilisation de gestion.

[Patricia Harewood s'exprime en français, et des sous‑titres en anglais s'affichent à l'écran.]

Donc l'imputabilité pour les gestionnaires au sein de la fonction publique est absolument clé. Donc, il faut que ça soit mis en œuvre. Ça fait 25 ans qu'on a la Loi sur l'équité en matière d'emploi, ça fait des décennies qu'on a la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne, mais le racisme anti-noir persiste.

[Le texte (blanc) suivant s'affiche sur un arrière‑plan noir : « Quelle est la meilleure façon de combattre contre le racisme en milieu de travail? ».]

[L'image de quatre participants à une vidéoconférence s'affiche. Le conférencier, Richard Sharpe, se trouve dans le coin supérieur gauche.]

[Le texte « Richard Sharpe : Cofondateur, Caucus des employés fédéraux noirs » s'affiche dans la partie inférieure gauche de l'écran avant de disparaître.]

Richard Sharpe : Le CEFN promeut quelque chose qui s'appelle des « mesures positives » pour remédier à notre sous-représentation aux échelons supérieurs, aux diverses tables et dans les différents « ateliers » qui existent dans la fonction publique. La majorité des fonctionnaires noirs se concentrent aux plus bas échelons de l'organisation et ce n'est pas de leur faute. Ils n'ont tout simplement pas eu la possibilité d'accéder à d'autres échelons. Alors, ce que nous suggérons à la fonction publique de faire – et tous les ministères peuvent le faire – c'est d'utiliser les outils qui existent pour favoriser la promotion et l'avancement des employés noirs et des autres employés racisés.

Nous avons besoin de cibles précises

[L'image de cinq participants à une vidéoconférence s'affiche. Le conférencier, Richard Sharpe, se trouve dans le coin supérieur gauche.]

et d'avoir des conversations difficiles sur les raisons pour lesquelles, parmi les groupes des minorités visibles, les Noirs, qui ont le même niveau, voire un plus haut de scolarité que certains de leurs collègues, n'ont pas de possibilités d'avancement. La discrimination et le racisme envers les Noirs existent même à l'intérieur des groupes des minorités visibles. Cela signifie donc qu'il faut quelque chose de très différent de ce à quoi nous sommes habitués, cela signifie qu'il faut utiliser des mesures positives pour pouvoir imposer ces changements au système et ne pas attendre que les changements se produisent uniquement en misant sur la formation et l'attrition. Si nous nous contentons de cela, nous aurons encore cette discussion avec mon fils et mes filles dans 25 ans.

[Le conférencier, Hantz Prosper, se trouve dans le coin inférieur gauche.]

[Le texte « Hantz Prosper, Directeur principal, Direction générale de la science et de l'infrastructure parlementaire, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada » s'affiche dans la partie inférieure gauche de l'écran avant de disparaître.]

Hantz Prosper : Je voulais juste aussi inciter mes collègues du gouvernement qui ont des autorisations et des pouvoirs délégués en matière d'embauche à agir, en leur disant que chacun d'entre eux peut changer les choses. Tout ne vient pas d'une politique comme si nous disposions de toutes les garanties politiques nécessaires. Une partie de notre responsabilité consiste à étudier nos valeurs essentielles et nos compétences, et nous devons avoir un milieu de travail diversifié et inclusif : cette responsabilité nous incombe.

Isaac Saney : C'est très bien d'avoir des personnes bien intentionnées et encourageantes qui sont prêtes à conduire ces programmes, mais si nous dépendons d'elles, cela devient extrêmement précaire, n'est-ce pas? C'est pourquoi je salue les personnes qui se présentent, mais j'insiste beaucoup sur notre besoin de politiques, de changements structurels pour que, lorsque ces personnes partent, le processus continue. Les structures existent pour que ces initiatives puissent aller de l'avant.

Patricia Harewood : C'est une question de responsabilité, de pouvoir et de lieux de pouvoir. Si vous, en tant que gestionnaire, vous détenez un pouvoir, vous devez en être responsable. Et donc, ce que Professeur Saney dit au sujet de politiques intégrées au changement structurel, lorsqu'il existe un cadre réel de responsabilisation en gestion intégrée dans la structure, il faut que le rendement d'un gestionnaire dépende du fait qu'il ait ou non réellement mis en œuvre les stratégies, les politiques et les pratiques permettant de lutter contre le racisme envers les Noirs. C'est ce qui doit se produire.

[Fondu au noir à l'écran puis le logo EFPC apparaît puis disparaît]

[canada.ca/ecole apparaît puis disparaît]

En vedette

Appli mobile « La réconciliation : un point de départ »

Téléchargez l'appli « La réconciliation : un point de départ » pour accéder à une mine d'informations sur les peuples autochtones du Canada, des événements historiques et la réconciliation.

Série d'apprentissage contre le racisme

La Série d'apprentissage contre le racisme donne accès à des outils de travail, des cours, des ateliers et des événements portant sur des sujets tels que le racisme envers les Noirs, les préjugés inconscients, les données désagrégées, la santé mentale et les défis rencontrés par les minorités visibles dans la fonction publique.

Ce site web est continuellement mis à jour en fonction de vos commentaires.

Dites-nous ce que vous en pensez.
Sur quelle plateforme porte votre commentaire? (obligatoire)
Date de modification :