Language selection

Search

Understanding Anti-Black Racism and How to Be an Ally

Description: Revisit the panel discussion on anti-Black racism, notably how to address it and how to be an ally. Our subject matter experts addressed the historical Black experience in Canada, and talked about current experiences within the federal public service and how you can make a difference.

Date: September 14, 2020

Duration: 00:14:55

Resolution: 1080p


Transcript

Nathalie Laviades-Jodouin [00:00:23] I'd like to invite Patricia Harewood, who currently works as in-house counsel for the Public Service Alliance of Canada PSAC, which is the largest union in Canada's federal public sector. Ms. Harewood provides advice to the elected leadership and staff, litigates various complaints and judicial review matters and provides instructions to external counsel. So over to you Patricia.

Patricia Harewood [00:00:57] Thank you very much for this introduction. 

Patricia Harewood [00:01:01] I just like to thank the organizers, FBEC and the Canadian School of Public Service for organizing this session. I wanted to just begin by acknowledging that we have heard already quite a bit of Black pain and we are still in a pandemic, although we are in the process of reopening in various jurisdictions. But I think that, you know, for many Black people, I will say that we have had a pandemic on top of the pandemic because the pandemic that is anti-Black racism, which you've heard from Professor Saini, has been embedded deeply in our institutions  for hundreds of years. And which you've heard from Monsieur Prospère, has had a direct mental health impact on him as an individual, but on many of us who walk in Black bodies. That is a continual pandemic that we live in. And so I just for those of you on the call who identify as Black of African, Caribbean descent, et cetera, I just want to acknowledge that.

Patricia Harewood [00:02:13] So, I just wanted to explain a little. I'll talk a little about how to be an effective ally.  But before I do, I'd just like to say a little more about what I did at the Alliance. So, so you can better understand my perspective.  So, as a lawyer, I represented hundreds of workers in the federal public service. I also worked in a position of Oppression Prevention Coordinator, and this is a position that was created within the Alliance following an incident of racism that took place within the Alliance.  And here, I'm talking about the Alliance as an employer. Therefore, this position was created to coordinate and implement practical policies and behaviours in order to address systemic racism and especially anti-Black racism in all its forms. 

Patricia Harewood [00:03:12] So that's where I've served as it was noted in the introduction as advisor to the elected leadership and to management teams on issues around coordinating and training and policy development with respect to equity and systemic racism. I want to also add that I consider myself connected to my community, and I think this is an important aspect of maintaining my own mental health. I speak obviously on my own behalf, but I think that that is true for many of us in the diversity of Black communities that are here across this country. I co-host, for example, a weekly show on CHUO 89.1 FM, which is called "Black on Black". And it addresses issues affecting the diversity of Black communities in Canada. You can tune into that every Saturday from 11 to 12 PM. So we interview people from all over Canada and the world. And for example, we've done a series of interviews on how COVID-19 has disproportionately impacted Black communities right here in Canada and in the U.S. and communities like Montréal-Nord. You know, in communities in Toronto, right here in Ottawa as well where I am. And then I sit on a number of not for profit boards.

Patricia Harewood [00:04:36] For example, I sit on the board of directors of Les Débrouillards educational center as president and I also sit on a board called the initiative: A City for All Women, which is a non-profit organization here in Ottawa. 

Patricia Harewood [00:04:51] So I come to this work from those positions and also I would say a position of relative privilege. I'm a Black woman. I'm a lawyer. I'm able bodied. I'm cisgender. I have a certain level of social class privilege, having been raised in a middle class family where both of my parents were teachers. My mom later became a public servant herself and was in the public service for 20 years. And I myself was in the public service in the Department of Justice for about four years as a L.A.S. Counsel. So I have a certain degree, I would argue, on this panel of freedom in the sense that I don't have any duty of loyalty to any federal government employer. I want to say that clearly. And so I feel as though to a certain extent, at least in this forum, I have the ability to speak freely. And I don't think that is the case for many public servants.

Patricia Harewood [00:05:57] I think for several Black public servants in the public service who work at the intersection of racism, sexism, homophobia in their workplace, that people are afraid of reprisals, that their careers would be completely eliminated if they speak openly as Mr. Prospère to talk about racism and the impact of the racism in the civil service in particular and in other institutions as well.

Patricia Harewood [00:06:35] Black public servants from what I understand from my experience are often afraid that they will be labelled, that they will be pigeonholed as the angry Black person who's always playing the race card, the Black person who is not a team player because they dare to call out, to stand out, to confront and challenge structural and systemic racism in their workplace. And so before I go into talking about, well, what is allyship then, I want to state very clearly what anti-Black racism is. So it is baked into all of our institutions in Canada, from health care to education to the system of justice, to the public service. And it's really policies and practices rooted in our institutions that basically reinforce beliefs, attitudes, prejudices, stereotypes and discriminate against Black and African, people of African descent. Those stereotypes that we know that I will not repeat that find their way in the workplace and in decision making. So what is allyship then? I have a bit of difficulty with the term ally. I will admit that I am not very comfortable with the term. I know it's being bandied about these days, that it's popular, that it's the new flavour of the month. And I know I myself have received several calls specifically from white colleagues both within and outside of the legal profession, who earnestly want to know what they can do to contribute to the struggle, to the uprising that we have seen in the streets across this country following the killing of Mr. Floyd, but also the killing of people like Regis Korchinski-Paquet. And so I prefer the term collaborator, coconspirator, someone who is not Black, but with whom you can work to address systemic anti-Black racism even when it is not popular to do so. Someone who you as a Black person, as a Black trans person, as a person with mental health issues, as a Black woman, as a Black gay man, as a Black person with family obligations, raising children, because we're not all the same, we're not homogenous, someone who you can count on and trust. So because my discomfort with the term ally is that it implies someone who's going to help, someone who's going to save a group that is oppressed and has been historically marginalized. I think what is needed is a fundamental shift, a realization from power, from people who wish to help will be allies and who hold power, that the struggle against anti-Black racism in the federal public service and in society writ large is just not the struggle of Black people alone. It must be the struggle of every public servant.

Patricia Harewood [00:09:43] So I'll just raise the 10 points, in my opinion, how to be an effective ally based on several documents I reviewed. First, we need to listen more, and I think Mr. Matthews talked about this at the beginning.  Active listening is paramount and I think, I say it with all due respect, people must be allowed, with the experience of anti-Black racism, to talk about their own experience in the public service. So you can better understand their reality.  One example is the work done for the Joint Committee on Diversity and Inclusion that produced a report available in English and French where they consulted 12,000 or more public servants and that in this report there are concrete recommendations from racialized communities, equity communities, and that also includes communities, Black people. Number 2: Don't rely on others for your learning.  And that means you have to do the job, the research. There is a need for a better understanding of the issues facing Black public servants. Visit the FHEC website, read suggested teachers' books, books like Desmond Cole's "The Skin We're In" to better understand what anti-Black racism is and how it manifests itself in our institutions and how it can be confronted. Robin DiAngelo's videos, for example, on white fragility, are also very interesting and important to have. Number 3: You must accept the criticism. For example, do you know that the word you used at this meeting is offensive to our communities? Given the history of slavery and anti-Black discrimination in our country. You need to recognize your privileges, your power as an ally, and we should discuss it openly. Black public servants have to be supported, not just with fine words, but with concrete actions, and here I want to refer to the decision of the Public Service Labour Relations Board. It was a decision of Christian Reeves who was an apprenticeship mechanic at the Department of National Defence and who suffered, who was subjected to anti-Black racism in the workplace. It is absolutely necessary to read this decision and when you read this decision, you find that, for example, Christian Reeves, who experienced anti-Black racism during his trial, during his hearing before the commission. He had allies. He had at least three white people who testified in order to say yes, racism, he suffered anti-Black racism. Your privilege and power must be used to dismantle systemic racism.  And that means that it understands that it requires extra effort to balance the disadvantage. Ensure that qualified Black people have access to advancement opportunities, acting positions, formal or informal mentoring, coaching, leadership opportunities.  You should not expect as an ally to a special reward or recognition because you face daily problems of Black civil servants that we live every day. Number 8: You must be prepared to share decision-making power at all levels with the competent Black people who deserve the positions. Number 9: A special effort is required to build a professional network that includes Black public servants. And finally, you need to give positive references, positive and fair assessments to Black public servants who deserve it so that they can move forward in their careers and with their lives.  So this is an overview of my 10 points on how to be a more effective ally and on that, I think I will finish my speech and I am open to any relevant questions. Thank you very much. Thank you.

Features

Complete your census today!

Help your community make choices about education, employment, transportation, health care and housing services.

COVID-19: Learning resourcesNew

Consult learning resources for public servants during the COVID-19 pandemic.

This website is continually being updated in response to your feedback.

Let us know what you think of it.
Which platform is your comment about:

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Comprendre le racisme envers les Noirs et comment être un allié

Description : Revoyez la discussion portant sur la façon d'aborder le racisme envers les Noirs et de faire sa part pour le contrer. Pour l'occasion, des experts aborderont l'expérience des Noirs au Canada au cours de l'histoire, leur réalité actuelle au sein de la fonction publique fédérale et la manière de provoquer le changement.

Comprendre le racisme envers les Noirs et comment devenir un allié

Date : 14 septembre 2020

Durée : 00:14:55

Résolution : 1080p


Transcription

Nathalie Laviades-Jodouin [00:00:23] J'aimerais inviter Patricia Harewood, qui travaille actuellement à titre d'avocate interne pour l'Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada, l'AFPC, qui est le plus important syndicat du secteur public fédéral au Canada. Mme Harewood conseille les dirigeants élus et le personnel, plaide diverses plaintes et questions de contrôle judiciaire et donne des instructions aux avocats externes. À toi, Patricia.

Patricia Harewood [00:00:57] Merci beaucoup pour cette introduction.

Patricia Harewood [00:01:01] Je tiens à remercier les organisateurs, CEFN et l'École de la fonction publique du Canada d'avoir organisé cette séance. Je voulais tout d'abord reconnaître que nous avons déjà entendu beaucoup de douleur Noire et que nous sommes toujours dans une pandémie, bien que nous soyons en train de rouvrir dans diverses juridictions. Mais je pense que, pour beaucoup de Noirs, je dirai que nous avons eu une pandémie en plus de la pandémie parce que la pandémie qui est le racisme anti-Noir, que vous avez entendu du professeur Saini, est profondément ancrée dans nos institutions depuis des centaines d'années.  Et ce que vous avez entendu de monsieur Prospère, a eu un impact direct sur sa santé mentale en tant qu'individu, mais sur plusieurs d'entre nous qui marchent dans des corps Noirs. Il s'agit d'une pandémie continue dans laquelle nous vivons.  Et donc, pour ceux d'entre vous qui sont en appel et qui s'identifient comme étant Noirs d'origine africaine, caribéenne, etc., je veux juste le reconnaître.

Patricia Harewood [00:02:13] Alors, je voulais juste vous expliquer un peu. Je vais parler un peu de comment être un allié efficace. Mais avant de le faire, j'aimerais juste dire un peu plus sur ce que moi j'ai fait à l'Alliance. Donc, pour que vous puissiez mieux comprendre ma perspective. Donc, en tant qu'avocate, j'ai représentée des centaines de travailleurs et travailleuses dans la fonction publique fédérale. J'ai aussi travaillée dans un poste de coordinatrice prévention de l'oppression et ça, c'est un poste qui a été créé au sein de l'Alliance suite à un incident de racisme qui a eu lieu au sein de l'Alliance. Et là, je parle de l'alliance comme employeur. Donc, ce poste a été créé pour coordonner et mettre en œuvre des politiques pratiques et des comportements afin d'adresser le racisme systémique et surtout le racisme anti-Noir dans toutes ses formes.

Patricia Harewood [00:03:12] C'est donc là que j'ai été mentionné dans l'introduction à titre de conseiller auprès des dirigeants élus et des équipes de gestion sur des questions liées à la coordination, à la formation et à l'élaboration de politiques en matière d'équité et de racisme systémique.  Je tiens aussi à ajouter que je me considère lié à ma collectivité, et je pense qu'il s'agit là d'un aspect important du maintien de ma propre santé mentale. Je parle évidemment en mon nom, mais je crois que cela est vrai pour bon nombre d'entre nous, dans la diversité des communautés Noires qui sont ici partout au pays.  Je co-anime, par exemple, une émission hebdomadaire sur CHUO 89.1 FM, qui s'appelle « Black on Black  ». De plus, il aborde les enjeux qui touchent la diversité des communautés Noires au Canada.  Vous pouvez y écouter tous les samedis de 11h à 12h. Nous interviewons donc des gens de partout au Canada et dans le monde.  Par exemple, nous avons effectué une série d'entrevues sur la façon dont la COVID-19 a eu des répercussions disproportionnées sur les communautés Noires ici, au Canada et aux États-Unis. et des communautés comme Montréal-Nord.  Vous savez, dans les collectivités de Toronto, ici même, à Ottawa, où je suis. Ensuite, je siège à un certain nombre de commissions sans but lucratif. 

Patricia Harewood [00:04:36] Par exemple, je siège sur le conseil d'administration du centre éducatif Les Débrouillards en tant que présidente et je siège aussi sur un conseil qui s'appelle l'initiative: une ville pour toutes les femmes, qui est un organisme à but non lucratif ici à Ottawa.

Patricia Harewood [00:04:51] J'en viens donc à ce travail à partir de ces postes et je dirais aussi une position de privilège relatif.  Je suis une femme Noire. Je suis avocate.  Je suis capable d'être corsé. Je suis cisgenre. J'ai un certain niveau de privilège de la classe sociale, ayant été élevé dans une famille de la classe moyenne où mes deux parents étaient enseignants. Plus tard, ma mère est devenue elle-même fonctionnaire et a travaillé dans la fonction publique pendant 20 ans.  Et j'ai moi-même travaillé dans la fonction publique au ministère de la Justice pendant environ quatre ans à titre de L.A.S. Avocat. Donc, j'ai un certain degré, selon moi, au sein de ce groupe de liberté en ce sens que je n'ai aucune obligation de loyauté envers un employeur du gouvernement fédéral. Je tiens à le dire clairement.  Et donc j'ai l'impression que, dans une certaine mesure, du moins dans ce forum, j'ai la capacité de parler librement. Et je ne crois pas que ce soit le cas pour de nombreux fonctionnaires. 

Patricia Harewood [00:05:57] Je pense que pour plusieurs fonctionnaires Noirs au sein de la fonction publique qui travaillent à l'intersection du racisme, du sexisme, de l'homophobie dans leur milieu de travail, que les personnes ont peur de subir des représailles, que leur carrière serait complètement éliminée s'ils parlent ouvertement comme M. Prospère à parler du racisme et l'impact du racisme au sein de la fonction publique en particulier et dans d'autres institutions aussi.

Patricia Harewood [00:06:35] Les fonctionnaires Noirs, d'après ce que je comprends de mon expérience, ont souvent peur qu'ils soient étiquetés, qu'ils soient considérés comme la personne Noire en colère qui joue toujours la carte raciale, la personne Noire qui n'est pas un joueur d'équipe parce qu'ils osent parler à voix haute, se démarquer, affronter et défier le racisme structurel et systémique dans leur milieu de travail.  Et avant de parler de ce qu'est allyship alors, je veux dire très clairement ce qu'est le racisme contre les Noirs. C'est donc intégré à toutes nos institutions au Canada, des soins de santé à l'éducation, au système de justice et à la fonction publique. Et ce sont vraiment des politiques et des pratiques enracinées dans nos institutions qui renforcent fondamentalement les croyances, les attitudes, les préjugés, les stéréotypes et font preuve de discrimination envers les Noirs et les Africains, les personnes d'ascendance africaine. Ces stéréotypes que nous savons que je ne répéterai pas et qui se retrouvent dans le milieu de travail et dans la prise de décisions.  Alors, qu'est-ce qu'allyship? J'éprouve un peu de difficulté avec le terme allié. Je reconnais que je ne suis pas très à l'aise avec le terme. Je sais que ça se fait de nos jours, que c'est populaire, que c'est la nouvelle saveur du mois.  Et je sais que j'ai moi-même reçu plusieurs appels de collègues blancs, tant au sein de la profession juridique qu'à l'extérieur, qui veulent sincèrement savoir ce qu'ils peuvent faire pour contribuer la lutte, au soulèvement que nous avons vu dans les rues du pays à la suite de l'assassinat de M. Floyd, mais aussi le meurtre de gens comme Regis Korchinski-Paquet. Je préfère donc le terme collaborateur, co-conspirateur, quelqu'un qui n'est pas Noir, mais avec qui vous pouvez travailler pour lutter contre le racisme systémique contre les Noirs, même lorsqu'il n'est pas populaire de le faire.  Quelqu'un que vous en tant que personne Noire, une personne trans Noire, une personne ayant des problèmes de santé mentale, une femme Noire, un homosexuel Noir, une personne Noire ayant des obligations familiales, élevant des enfants, parce que nous ne sommes pas tous les mêmes, nous ne sommes pas homogènes, quelqu'un sur qui vous pouvez compter et faire confiance. Donc, parce que mon inconfort avec le terme allié est qu'il implique quelqu'un qui va aider, quelqu'un qui va sauver un groupe qui est opprimé et qui a été historiquement marginalisé. Je pense que ce qu'il faut, c'est un changement fondamental, une prise de conscience du pouvoir, des personnes qui souhaitent aider seront des alliés et qui détiendront le pouvoir, que la lutte contre le racisme anti-Noir dans la fonction publique fédérale et dans la société ne constitue tout simplement pas la lutte des Noirs. Il doit s'agir de la lutte de tous les fonctionnaires. 

Patricia Harewood [00:09:43] Alors je vais juste soulevé les 10 points, à mon avis, comment être un allié efficace basé sur plusieurs documents que j'ai révisé. Premièrement, il faut écouter davantage et je pense que monsieur Matthews a parlé de cela au début. L'écoute active, c'est primordial et je pense, je le dis avec tout le respect qu'il faut, il faut laisser les gens, avec l'expérience vécue du racisme anti-Noir, de parler de leur propre expérience dans la fonction publique. Pour que vous puissiez mieux comprendre leur réalité. Un exemple, c'est le travail qui a été fait pour le Comité conjoint sur la diversité et l'inclusion qui ont produit un rapport disponible en anglais et français où ils ont consulté 12 000 et plus fonctionnaires et qui a dans ce rapport, il y a des recommandations concrètes provenant des communautés racialisées, des communautés d'équité, et ça comprend aussi des communautés, des personnes Noires. Numéro 2: ne compter pas sur les autres pour votre apprentissage. Et cela signifie qu'il faut faire le travail, la recherche. Il faut mieux comprendre les enjeux des fonctionnaires Noirs. Il faut visiter le site Web de FHEC, lire les livres suggérés de professeurs, les livres comme « The Skin We're In » de Desmond Cole afin de mieux comprendre qu'est-ce qui est le racisme anti-Noir et comment ça se manifeste dans nos institutions et comment le confronter. Les vidéos de Robin DiAngelo, par exemple, sur la fragilité blanche, sont aussi très intéressantes et importantes à avoir. Numéro 3: vous devez accepter la critique. Par exemple, savez-vous que le mot que vous avez utilisé lors de cette réunion que c'est offensant pour nos communautés? Compte tenu de l'histoire de l'esclavage et la discrimination anti-Noirs dans notre pays. Il faut que vous reconnaissiez en tant qu'allié vos privilèges, votre pouvoir et on devrait le discuter ouvertement. Il faut appuyer les fonctionnaires Noirs, pas simplement avec les beaux mots, mais avec les gestes concrets, et là, je veux référer à la décision de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique. C'est une décision de Christian Reeves qui était mécanicien en apprentissage au département de Défense nationale et qui a subi, qui a été assujetti à le racisme anti-Noir dans le milieu de travail. Il faut absolument lire cette décision et quand vous lisiez cette décision, vous rencontrez que par exemple Christian Reeves qui a vécu le racisme anti-Noir lors de son procès, lors de son audience devant la commission. Il avait des alliés. Il avait au moins trois personnes blanches qui ont témoignés afin de dire oui, le racisme, il a subi le racisme anti-Noir. Il faut utiliser votre privilège et votre pouvoir pour démanteler le racisme systémique. Et ça veut dire que ça comprend que ça exige des efforts supplémentaires afin d'équilibrer le désavantage. S'assurer que les personnes Noires compétentes ont accès aux opportunités d'avancement, des postes intérimaires, le mentorat formel ou informel, le coaching, les opportunités de leadership. Il faut pas vous attendez en tant qu'allié à une récompense ou une reconnaissance spéciale parce que vous affrontez des problèmes quotidiens des fonctionnaires Noirs qu'on vit tous les jours. Numéro 8: vous devez être prêt à partager le pouvoir décisionnel à tous les niveaux avec les personnes Noires compétentes qui méritent les postes. Numéro 9: il faut faire un effort spécial afin de bâtir un réseau professionnel qui inclut les fonctionnaires Noirs. Et finalement, il faut que vous donniez des références positives, des évaluations positives et justes aux fonctionnaires Noirs qui le méritent afin de leur permettre d'avancer dans leur carrière et avec leur vie. Alors,  ça c'est un survol de mes 10 points concernant comment être allié plus efficace et sur cela, je pense que je vais terminer mon discours et je suis ouverte à toutes questions pertinentes. Merci beaucoup. Je vous remercie.

En vedette

Appli mobile « La réconciliation : un point de départ »

Téléchargez l'appli « La réconciliation : un point de départ » pour accéder à une mine d'informations sur les peuples autochtones du Canada, des événements historiques et la réconciliation.

Série d'apprentissage contre le racisme

La Série d'apprentissage contre le racisme donne accès à des outils de travail, des cours, des ateliers et des événements portant sur des sujets tels que le racisme envers les Noirs, les préjugés inconscients, les données désagrégées, la santé mentale et les défis rencontrés par les minorités visibles dans la fonction publique.

Ce site web est continuellement mis à jour en fonction de vos commentaires.

Dites-nous ce que vous en pensez.
Sur quelle plateforme porte votre commentaire? (obligatoire)
Date de modification :