Reconciliation Through the Arts

Reconciliation Through the Arts

Description: Video clips of artists, Indigenous leaders and public servants discussing the role of the arts in the reconciliation process.

Date: February 7, 2017

Duration: 00:05:13

Resolution: 1080p


Transcript

Within our Nation, the Mohawk Nation, there was no language word for art. We called it beauty. It was a way of life. It was how we lived day to day, and the path, the path of beauty.

Cowboy Smithx.

Good to see you.

Good to see you again.

I'm glad you made it.

Yeah, well, I'm really happy just to be here on your land, you know.

I've heard that before.

---Laughter

Elder in the Making is kind of a road trip story, actually, between a Chinese Canadian (me) and Cowboy Smithx, as we go learning about our shared history and our home. What started off as kind of this small exploration grew into a huge exploration of Indigenous culture and history in Southern Alberta, on the traditional territories of the Blackfoot.

Actually, you know, shoot the beautiful landscapes that exist out there and understand what they mean to the people of the land. I can't even say it was so close to home; it is home.

What is it that you would want to tell us, the public servants, on how we should be building better relationships with Indigenous Peoples?

Making a genuine connection with individuals, specifically elders. You know, they carry the most knowledge in our communities. It's really a conversation about effort. I mean, you've got to go beyond what's in your policy here, at the School. I mean, you've got to make it a personal journey and not one that is part of the institution you represent. You can't expect anything. You can't think there's a certain level you are going to get to if you spend four years with an elder. It doesn't work that way.

Here's a dangerous conversation about pan-Indianism. We are not all the same. We all have different circumstances and connections because the land itself, the physical geography, the geology, expresses itself in different ways.

Definitely, you have to go above and beyond what siloed expectations you may have which may be connotated to your work or connotated to some sort of obligation. Even tokenism is always kind of a dangerous thing to get involved with. But definitely make it genuine, make it authentic, if you're going to connect to somebody. Know your history.

It's important to know what you're actually saying before you say it. Be considerate, right? So, when I hear things like, "Well, we'll let the First Nations do their dance at the beginning, or we'll let them…" I mean, come on, we're done being "let in." I mean, we're foreigners in our own territory enough that we don't need to be let anywhere within our own territories.

So, when it comes to the language of any type of circumstance, it's important to be very aware of what you're saying. Inclusion is a form of othering and it's… You know, I'm saying to be respectful.

We're seeing all these types of stories like Elder in the Making, like the Truth and Reconciliation Report, which I recommend everybody read. These all help to start shaping people's understanding of how we came to where we are.

---Music

It's essentially a love story. It's about Annie, who is a young, Indigenous girl who is not in touch with her culture. She meets Gordon, who is a survivor, and he teaches her about the Indian Residential School story.

---Music

I felt it was timely, and I felt that art can bring about change. I want to make people aware.

---Music

Truth brings reconciliation; reconciliation, I think, can bring harmony; and harmony can bring prosperity.

Reconciliation is a word I've only started using recently. The fact that we're even having this conversation is quite inspiring. Hopeful is definitely a part of that, but we've been hopeful for too long. It's time to really take agency over these conversations and bring them into fruition.

We're not going to come and say, "Oh, it's time to come to Mohawk lands." You know, we're not going to do that, it's not our place. It's your place to come and ask, and it's in the asking you will grow, learn. But more importantly, love for yourself and others.

---Chants


Features

COVID19

Information for Government of Canada employees: Coronavirus disease (COVID-19)

Updates for employees on COVID-19, telework, advisories, messages and resources to share.
COVID-19: Learning resources

COVID-19: Learning resourcesNew

Learning resources to support public servants during the COVID‑19 pandemic.

This website is continually being updated in response to your feedback.

Let us know what you think of it.
Which platform is your comment about:
Enter your email if you would like a reply:
Date modified:

La réconciliation par l'art

La réconciliation par l'art

Description : Des extraits de vidéos d'artistes, de dirigeants autochtones et de fonctionnaires, qui parlent du rôle de l'art dans le processus de réconciliation.

Date : Le 7 février 2017

Durée : 00:05:17

Résolution : 1080p


Transcription

Dans notre nation, la nation Mohawk, il n'existait pas de mot pour l'art. Nous utilisions le mot " beauté ". Elle faisait partie de nos vies. C'était notre mode de vie quotidien, et le chemin, le chemin de la beauté.

Cowboy Smithx.

Ravi de vous voir.

Ravi de vous revoir.

Je suis content que vous vous soyez rendu.

Je suis vraiment heureux d'être ici sur votre territoire.

J'ai déjà entendu ça.

---Rires

Le film Elder in the Making est l'histoire d'un parcours entre un Canadien chinois (moi) et Cowboy Smithx, qui nous permet d'en apprendre sur notre histoire commune et notre chez nous. Ce qui a commencé par un petit projet d'exploration s'est transformé en un grand projet d'exploration de la culture et de l'histoire autochtones dans le sud de l'Alberta, sur les territoires ancestraux des Pieds Noirs.

En fait, nous voulions filmer les paysages magnifiques qu'on y trouve et comprendre leur signification pour les peuples de ces territoires. Je ne peux même pas dire que c'était près de chez nous; c'est chez nous.

Que souhaiteriez vous nous dire, à nous les fonctionnaires, sur la façon d'établir de meilleures relations avec les peuples autochtones?

Il faut établir un lien sincère avec les personnes, surtout les aînés. Vous savez, ce sont eux qui possèdent le plus de connaissances dans nos collectivités. Il faut déployer des efforts. Vous devez aller au-delà de ce qui est énoncé dans vos politiques ici, à l'École. Vous devez en faire un parcours personnel, non pas le parcours imposé par l'institution que vous représentez. Vous ne devez pas avoir d'attentes. Vous ne pouvez pas penser acquérir des connaissances uniquement en partageant le quotidien d'un aîné pendant quatre ans. Ça ne fonctionne pas comme ça.

Voici des propos sur le panamérindianisme qui nous mènent sur un sentier dangereux. Nous ne sommes pas tous pareils. Nous vivons tous des situations différentes et avons des liens différents, car les territoires mêmes, la géographie, la géologie s'expriment de différentes façons.

Vous devez absolument dépasser les attentes figées qui peuvent être liées à votre travail ou à une certaine obligation. Même la politique de coopération symbolique est une chose dont il faut se méfier.

Vous devez absolument être sincères et authentiques si vous voulez établir des liens avec les personnes. Apprenez à connaître votre histoire. Vous devez savoir ce que vous dites avant de le dire. Vous devez être prévenants, d'accord?

Quand j'entends des propos comme " Nous allons laisser les Premières Nations exécuter leur danse au début " ou " nous allons les laisser… "… Je veux dire, franchement… Nous ne voulons pas qu'on nous laisse faire les choses. Nous sommes des étrangers sur notre propre territoire. Ça suffit! Nous n'avons pas besoin d'une permission pour entrer sur nos territoires.

Vous devez faire attention aux mots que vous employez lorsque vous vous exprimez, peu importe la situation. L'inclusion est une façon de considérer les autres comme des étrangers… je veux dire, soyez respectueux.

Nous sommes témoins de ce genre d'histoires, comme le film Elder in the Making et le rapport de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation, que je recommande à tous de lire. Ces outils aident les gens à comprendre comment nous en sommes arrivés là.

---Musique

Il s'agit essentiellement d'une histoire d'amour. C'est l'histoire d'Annie, une jeune fille autochtone qui ne connaît pas sa culture. Elle rencontre Gordon, un survivant, et il lui parle de l'histoire des pensionnats indiens.

---Musique

J'ai cru que le moment était opportun, et que l'art pouvait provoquer des changements. Je veux sensibiliser les gens.

---Musique

La vérité mène à la réconciliation; je crois que la réconciliation peut mener à l'harmonie, et l'harmonie peut mener à la prospérité.

Je n'utilise le mot " réconciliation " que depuis peu. Le fait que nous ayons cette conversation est plutôt inspirant. L'espoir en fait sans aucun doute partie, mais nous espérons depuis trop longtemps. Il est temps de prendre le contrôle de ces conversations et de faire en sorte qu'elles soient fructueuses.

Nous ne dirons pas : " Venez sur les territoires des Mohawk ". Nous ne ferons pas ça. Ce n'est pas ainsi que nous procédons. Vous devez le demander, et c'est ainsi que vous grandirez et apprendrez.

Le plus important : vous ferez preuve d'amour envers nous et envers les autres.

---Chants


En vedette

COVID19

Renseignements à l'intention des employés du gouvernement du Canada : maladie à coronavirus (COVID‑19)

Mise à jour à l'intention des employés sur COVID‑19, télétravail, avis, messages et ressources à partager.

COVID-19 : Ressources d'apprentissage

COVID-19 : Ressources d'apprentissageNouveau

Ressources d'apprentissage pour les fonctionnaires au courant de la pandémie de COVID-19.

Ce site web est continuellement mis à jour en fonction de vos commentaires.

Dites-nous ce que vous en pensez.
Sur quelle plateforme porte votre commentaire :
Veuillez entrer votre courriel si vous souhaitez une réponse :
Date de modification :